A HOUSE . . .
“Building on the history begun in 1883 to welcome Presbyterians to Chautauqua and to house missionaries for summer institutes, the Presbyterian Association
~includes all persons in our welcome.
~provides excellent weekly accommodations and meals at prices made affordable by generous donors.”
AND A COMMUNITY
“Creating a Presbyterian presence through worship, study and hospitality, the Presbyterian Association
~shares our beautiful and functional facility
~contributes financially to Chautauqua Institution and surrounding community
~works in cooperation with denominational houses and religious communities
The Presbyterian Association of Chautauqua, New York has been active since 1883.
The construction of the Presbyterian House, the first brick building on the grounds, was begun in 1889, expanded in 1908 and designated an Historical Site in 1987 by the Philadelphia Presbyterian Historical Society. In 1927, the Mary Willis House was willed to the Association by Mrs. O. G. Franks and occupied until 2004, when the house was sold.
To meet the need for more affordable housing, a process was begun in 1999 to expand the existing Presbyterian House. A hospitable environment, in which a multigenerational group of people could experience Chautauqua was the goal. The expanded Presbyterian House was completed and opened in June 2004. The Mary Willis House Wing is part of this expanded facility.
Guest charges are kept to a minimum through contributions to the Association from faithful members and friends. No support is received from any board of the Presbyterian Church,